The Tapah District Council (MDT) was constituted on 1st September 1979 and gazetted according to the Perak State Government Gazette No. PK.PU.89/24.11.1979 with an area of 14,628 hectares. It covers the left and right sides of the main route from the border of South Kinta District Council up to Trolak and 10 chains left and right from the routes of Sungkai/ Kampung Menderang, Bidor/ Teluk Intan, Tapah/ Cameron Highlands and Temoh/ Teluk Intan.

The areas included under the administration of MDT after the commencement of the gazette are:-

  • Tapah Municipal Board
  • Temoh Local Government Management Board
  • Air Kuning Local Government Management Board
  • Chenderiang Local Government Management Board
  • Banir Local Government Management Board
  • Tapah Road Local Government Management Board
  • Bukit Pagar Local Government Management Board
  • Bidor Local Government Management Board
  • Sungkai Local Government Management Board
  • Bidor Stesyen Local Government Management Board
  • Kampung Coldstream Local Government Management Board

This administration was restructured and created three types of territories which are:

a) Adoption Area

This area has been gazetted within the Tapah District Gazette Plan and has potential to be expanded.

b) Operational Area

This area is where the Council fully executes the activities according to the Act requirements. This territory has an area of 53.58 hectares.

c) Exemption Area

This is an area consisting of traditional villages which are exempted from the payment of assessment taxes but are still entitled to receive services from the Council based on their capabilities. There are 44 traditional villages within this Council area.

Internal Department of Tapah District Council

Tapah District Council has a number of departments which plays their own roles and responsibilities respectively. A Head of Department is appointed based on the position to monitor and supervise their subordinates. The relevant departments are:

  • Engineering and Building Department
  • Planning, Development and Landscape Department
  • Legal Department
  • One Stop Centre (OSC) Department
  • Information Technology Department
  • Urban Service Department
  • Valuation and Property Management Department
  • Vector Control and Premise Cleanliness Department
  • Licensing Department
  • Management Service Department
  • Treasury Department
  • Enforcement Department
  • Internal Audit Department